IELTS writing task 2. The topic is about talent in art.

'anyone can do it' attitude

In some countries today, there is an attitude that 'anyone can do it' in arts-music, literature, acting, art, etc. As a result, people with no talent become rich and famous and genuine talent is not valued or appreciated.

Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, it is concerned that mediocre talents which earn people money and fame will lead to the undervaluation of genuine ones, with the popularity of the motto 'anyone can do it'. In my opinion, I do not subscribe to that statement because of two main reasons.

First of all, only true talents can shine and stay in the spotlight for a long period of time. With the help of internet and streaming videos, people can easily upload their performances which can go viral for a while if the responses are positive. Many international artists have done this to obtain their first contract with the CD labels, such as Colbie Caillat, Justin Biebers or Boyce Avenue. However, it is extremely crucial to remember that after that stage, they continuously gave the audience more of their artistic developments as well chart-topping songs in order to stay popular. In contrast, thousands of Youtube singers are forgotten because the lack of authentic gifts.

Second, it should be accented that people need to be more inspired and encouraged to show their talents in front of public, even if they are not exceptional or phenomenal like well-known artists. For instance, many reality shows like The Voice, X factors look for talented individuals by giving them incentives to step out of their comfort zones, to take their chances. In other words, without those encouragement, many A-rated singers will still remain unknown.

In conclusion, the worry about people with no talents getting famous at fast pace in our modern community is exaggerated. Speaking from my perspective, I believe that the attitude 'anyone can do it' should be emphasized and only real talents can survive in the competitive atmosphere of creating arts.