Tour guides are necessary for great trips, but others prefer to travel without help

The best way to travel is in a group led by a tour guide

Today, people enjoy traveling during their free time. When it comes to travel, some people say that tour guides are necessary for great trips, while the others like to plan trips by themselves and travel without help. As for me, I strongly disagree that the best way to travel is in a group led by a tour guide.

First of all, people are generally poor, and hiring a tour guide in their tours usually includes extra expenses. For example, I planned to go to Japan last month, so I contacted a famous travel agency and asked them how much would it cost if I joined a tour group with a tour guide. The answer shocked me. The expense was 20% more than the budget which I would likely to spend if I went there alone. In the end, I chose to travel without a tour guide's help. I also saved a great amount of money so that I can start to plan another trip next month. Therefore, if one wants to have an economical plan about the tour, joining a group with a tour guide seems to be a bad idea.

Secondly, people don't want to be controlled during their journey, and joining a group led by a tour guide doesn't allow you to do everything you want. For instance, tour guides always have specific schedules in a tour group which determine where to go and where to eat. You have to follow strictly to these time tables because if you are late, you will waste other members' time. Also, you are forced to go somewhere you don't want to go in that everyone has to do everything together. Obviously, you can't get really relaxed in a tour group due to being controlled by others.

Last but not least, people don't want their favorable tour plans being bothered by others, but traveling within a group led by a tour guide has great possibilities to meet someone who will ruin your journey. Take myself for example, last summer when I went to Hawaii with my family, the tour guide often annoyed me when he tried to persuade us to buy products we didn't want. Definitely, you don't want some vexing business sales patterns interrupt your joyful tours. As a result, traveling alone allows you to decide what you want and avoid wasting time with someone you don't like.

In conclusion, people should plan their own journeys and travel without the help of tour guides. After all, if you want an economical trip which will not be bothered by others and have more free options to choose, traveling alone without a tour guide is the best way.