Tour guides travel - places full of people and time limitations

(TOEFL) Agree or disagree: The best way to travel is in a group led by a tour guide.

Within the last few decades, there has been an unprecedented development of people's perception about traveling. Just in 2015, there were millions of visitors going to foreign countries for fun. There are usually two ways chosen: traveling in a group led by a guide or just by oneself. I disagree with the statement that the best way to travel is in a group by a tour guide, because tour guides always lead visitors to places full of people and there are time limitations, not to mention tour guides who persuade visitors to buy goods during the trip.

First, tour guides always pay attention to places of interests, which are famous for their characteristic scenery. However, these places are so well-known that they are allways filled with a tremendous amount of tourists. Sometimes, as a visitor, I am not sure whether I am looking at the scenes or the people. With a lot of visitors, I cannot even feature the scenery completly when the picture is taken.

Next, due to responsibility, tour guides are afraid of losing tourists and it is hard to manage a large group of people, so they just give tourists little time at every spot, like an hour, which is not sufficient at all. After tourists arrive at a spot, they need time to appreciate the spectacular scenes, communicate with other individuals and take pictures in memory of the trip. How could they possibly fulfill these desires in such a short period?

Last, it is difficult to deny that there are some tour guides who persuade their tourists to buy things during the trip again and again. And maybe because of group effects, visitors are more likely to buy "souvenirs" when they are faced with others' purchasing and shopping. As a result, tour guides will get feedbacks from shopping malls or companies, and visitors return home with useless goods.

In conclusion, I believe that it is not the best way to travel with a group of people led by a tour guide, which will bring tourists problems of crowds, time limitations and unwilling purchasing.