IELTS Writing 2 The tourism industry has grown enormously over the last fifty years.

impact of tourism

Topic: The tourism industry has grown enormously over the last fifty years, and there are few places which are unaffected by it. However, tourism rarely benifits the countries which tourists visit.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Tourism, as one of the most important industry affecting a state's economy, has profound influence on the local countries. Some people argue the local can hardly get any advantages from it, while I contend tourism has brought many merits to the local country.

The most important reason is that tourism creats employment opportunities to the local where many people could only rely their livings on fishing or mining previously. The rising hotels and restaurants allow local residents to work inside. Meanwhile, the locals can make business on their own.

My second point is tourism serves as a platform of cultural exchange which promotes multiculture locally. By accepting tourists from worldwide, the local culture can be enriched during cultural infusions. Furthermore, tourist can take the local culture to their homecountry, helping expanding culture to different places.

Finally, the promotion of local tourism elevate both the local infrastructures and facilities with the increase of its needs. To some extend, the construction of airport or highways facilitate the local people and makes their life more convenient.

According to the reasons above, I beleive tourism brings the local a more prosper, convenient and multicultural life.