TOEFL:Travel from home to a place 40 miles away. Which method of travel you would choose ?

Writing Task

You need to travel from your home to a place 40 miles (64 kilometers) away. Compare the different kinds of transportation you could use. Tell which method of travel you would choose. Give specific reasons for your choice.

Response:

Transportation is an important element of today's contemporary world and it plays a huge role in shortening the time one takes to travel to several places. There are many transportation available such as airplane, bus, car, train etc. Each one of them has their own advantageous and cost associated with them. If I need to travel from my home to place 40 miles away, then I can use many different transportation options for example, bus, metro, car, train or bike.

First of all, if I travel by bus, then it will save a lot of money. Since, buses are the most common mode of public transport available today, it is easily available. Also, there are many different types of buses available in terms of cost. For example, AC deluxe, deluxe, normal. Each different in terms of price, seating structure. So, it is not necessary to have a huge pocket to avail bus service. Further, with the advent of technology metros are built in most of the metropolitan cities and they also serve as a mode of transportation. Since, I live in New Delhi, metro service is easily available and it is also the one of the transportation option used by people. Its advantages include no pollution, nominal price, saves time. So, metro is one of transportation that I could use.

Second, train is also a cheap and common mode of public transport for long distances. However, train will not be suitable if I need to travel 40 miles as most of trains in my city don't have a stop until they covers a distance of 50 miles. So, choosing train as a travelling option will be burdensome for me and it will increase my travelling time instead of shortening it.

Moreover, apart from the various public transports, I can also choose to travel by either by my personal car or by my brother's bike. Though, it requires an effort to ride and consumes your energy, riding a vehicle yourself makes one more excited and brings in an immense sense of happiness. Travelling by car, gives me opportunity to use my music system and bring in more people in the journey. Further, if I travel by bike, it brings a rush in adrenaline and makes me feel as If I am a professional biker.

To sum up, the above discussed are all the options I can use if I need to travel to a place 40 miles away. Each of them has their own advantageous and are appropriate means to travel depending upon a person's choice.

Please provide suggestions for improvement and any errors if any.