Whether traveling on our own or with a group headed by a tour guide is better remains controversial

Hi! This is my essay for TOEFL IBT independent writing. Please help me check it. Thank you!

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The best way to travel is in a group led by a tour guide.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There are a variety of ways to travel. However, whether traveling on our own or with a group headed by a tour guide is better remains controversial. In my opinion, traveling under the guidance of a tour guide brings more advantages than taking the trip by ourselves. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following paragraphs.

First of all, the tour guide is highly knowledgeable about tourist attractions. She can provide us with a large amount of information regarding the history, culture, and people of the place. If we opt to travel alone, we will be likely to miss the opportunity to acquire these valuable pieces of knowledge. For instance, my family once visited a well-known mountainous village in northern Vietnam. The tour guide gave us detailed descriptions of the traditions, customs, and lifestyles of ethnic people there. Hence, we had a deeper understanding of their lives. She told us about their daily routines and even taboos so that we could avoid inappropriate behaviors in many situations. She also offered us some useful advice on where and how to go sightseeing in a safe way, as the roads in this region are quite steep and uneven, which may be dangerous if not careful. That is how hiring a tour guide made our trip more pleasant and interesting.

Second, in case we run into trouble, having a tour guide could be a great help. If a person travels on his own, he has no one to turn to when it comes to coping with unexpected problems. Take my friend's experience as an example, he used to get lost in a rainforest during his journey. At first, he was extremely worried, fortunately, when he contacted his tour guide, she managed to calm him down and gave him elaborate instructions to get back. Thanks to her assistance, he was able to return quickly and safely. That is the reason we should always have a tour guide when traveling.

In conclusion, it is way more beneficial to take a group tour accompanied by a tour guide. This is not only a chance to enhance our knowledge but is also helpful when something unpleasant happens to us.