Nowadays, more and more universities ask their students to choose one field the school have

Thanks a lot!

Topic: Some universities require students to take classes in many subjects. Other universities require students to specialize in one subject. Which is better?

Nowadays, more and more universities ask their students to choose one field the school have and then to take the relative classes during the next four years. But is it the best way to educate students? My view point is that it is better for universities to require their students to take classes in many subjects. As far as I concerned, I feel that taking classes in many fields can offer students more opportunities in job hunting and broaden their thinking.

First of all, I believe the students who know many subjects have the advantage in job hunting over the students who only master one field. Since almost all graduates have no practical experience, the person who has a broaden knowledge probably wins more attentions of the employers. Because in modern society, a job often require the employee to possesses many aspects of knowledge rather than focuses on one aspect. A position, such as a sales representative in a pharmaceutical company, often needs the candidate have not only the special knowledge on marketing but also some basic knowledge of pharmaceutics.

Obviously, the graduate who gained various knowledge such as marketing management and natural science may wins more attention of employers than who specialized in marketing management. Thus, possessing various knowledge probably provides students more opportunities in job hunting.

secondly, I deem that by learning many subjects, students can gain different way of thinking which can help them to deal with things. Different subjects can bring students different understand on one thing. Thus, when faced some problems, they can think and handle things from various angles. For instance, as a general rule, natural science often help people to build the rigorous thinking which makes them do one thing reasonably and rationally and does not lets their emotions guide their behavior. However, art, cultivating the capacity of imagination and creation, can facilitate people to self-express and communicate and use the sensitivity to see matters . Therefore, a broaden knowledge on many fields results in a all-round understanding and the both reasonable and sensitive way of doing things.

While knowing various knowledge is better than focusing on one subject for students, we should not lose sight of the fact that students will spend much more time and energy on taking many classes on many fields. However, it is worth to cost time when considering the advantages of taking classes in many fields mentioned above.

In conclusion, I think universities should require students to take classes in many subjects. Although this education mode may do cost students more time, students can benefit from the various and broaden knowledge in future. In the age of information explosion, there is no denying that generalists will play a important role in society.