IELTS Some universities now offer their courses on the internet so that people can study online.

Hello everyone! This is my first time to post my essay in this forum. I hope that I can get some help with the IELTS writing. I will appreciate is you can give me some detailed feedback and scores for 4 different parts! Thank you very much:)

Some universities now offer their courses on the internet so that people can study online. Is that a positive or negative development?

online university courses

It is true that online courses have become a common feature of university education. Although there are some drawbacks of Internet-based learning, I would argue there are far more benefits.

The main drawback of e-learning in universities is that there is less direct communication. Students enrolled in online courses may not have the opportunity to engage face-to-face with their lecturers and tutors, which makes it more difficult to study. Similarly, students who study online will have less chances to interact directly with their classmates, leading to a negative impact on peer-assisted learning. For instance, whereas students in traditional classes are able to attend seminars or have group meetings, online learners are restricted to chatting through website forum areas, which may affect their motivation in learning.

Despite the drawbacks mentioned above, I believe that the development of online study is a positive trend for several reasons. Firstly, Internet-based learning allows people to study in a more flexible way, meaning that they can work whenever and wherever is suitable for them. Secondly, the cost of education can be largely reduced through learning online courses, since virtual classrooms require less equipment than traditional classrooms. Thirdly and lastly, e-learning provides all people access to learn knowledge as long as they have such willingness, regardless of age, country, language and cultural background. For example, my uncle has enrolled in an online IT course is a university in West Australia, which would have been impossible in the days before online study.

In conclusion, while I recognise the possible disadvantages of online university courses, I consider it to be a positive development overall.