Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online.

It is said that some higher educational institutions provide virtual courses so students can study remotely. Despite some advantages of this trend, in my opinion, the drawbacks surpass the benefits.

Studying from the comfort of students' homes is advantageous to some extent. To commence, acquiring knowledge through internet-based courses provides students flexibility and convenience. Online courses are available anytime and anywhere, so students can schedule their studies around other responsibilities. Next, online studies also help working adults or single moms access quality education without going to school. This is crucial since they have an inadequate amount of time and an unbalanced lifestyle between work and study. Therefore, it is easier for people, especially women who are busy taking care of their offspring, to set the time to study online when they are available.

However, I firmly believe that the drawbacks of online learning are far more significant. One clear disadvantage is that students can be distracted from learning. The reason is that children study in their own homes without close supervision from their teachers. One of the salient illustrations of this situation is that notifications from mobile phones or noises from construction sites nearby may draw people's attention. As a result, they may miss some central points of their lessons. Additionally, when studying online, students have little interaction with people like their classmates and lecturers. Through virtual courses, they cannot engage themselves in in-person conversations. This can be seen in myriad instances when children are assigned group presentations or seminars that require working in a team, and they may find it harder to complete them. Furthermore, it can be more challenging for students who study subjects that need interaction and collaboration. The accumulated evidence has reasoned that children may get lower academic results if they pursue online learning for a long time.

In conclusion, despite some benefits of studying remotely for learners, I firmly believe that the downsides of this problem are even higher.