IELTS: University lecturers are now able to put their lectures on the Internet..

University lecturers are now able to put their lectures on the Internet for students to read and so the importance of attending face to face lectures has been reduced.

Do you believe the use of the Internet in formal education is a good idea? What future effects will the Internet have on academic study?

Nowadays, sharing lectures on the Internet is very helpful not only because graduates can read them online and study at home but also because they can read them how many times they want to.

On the one hand, there are some disadvantages about uploading lectures on the Internet. Visiting university make students more responsible and independent. They have timetable and should follow it, while, for example, graduates who study at home wake up later in the morning than those who attending university. Also, scientists believe that everybody memorize information much better if they heard it from lecturer, instead of reading it online. However, visiting university is harder than studying at home, but students can ask their lecturers some questions and get quick answer, while using google engine to search for them will take more time.

On the other hand, positive aspects are more significant than negative ones. Firstly and most importantly, everybody can try to attend university and study at home at the same time. Then it will be easier for students to get their exams. Secondly, they can search for data in Google that their lecturers did not know or just study more about the lecture online. This can only help them to prepare for their tests. Thirdly, some students forget very quickly and it is better for them to read lectures every day.

In conclusion, I am inclined to think that using Internet for uploading data and lectures is beneficial and advantages of it outweigh disadvantages.