IELTS TASK2 - Should university students' study orientation

Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Other believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

ESSAY

Forcing to study some subjects

Some persist that the freedom for university students to select courses on their own, while others regard useful subjects such as science and technology significantly. Personally, having the freedom to choose what to study and learning useful knowledge from required subjects both seem reasonable to me.

First of all, those who hold the second statement have their sound reasons. A key point lies in the fact that allowing applied subjects can offer necessary human capital for economic growth. Economic and social development, especially in those underdeveloped countries has a huge demand for talents in science and technology. Therefore, university authorities should devote limited financial resources to those required useful subjects as a priority.

On the other hand, people who insist on the first statement also have a strong voice. It can be observed easily that the freedom to choose or interest-oriented study can motivate students' potentials to a fuller extent. Students' interest in a particular field undoubtedly leads to their passion to explore and investigate, which may bring about in this area. Secondly, such freedom is more beneficial to students' all-round development. For instance, art courses cultivate student's taste, math enhances logical thinking and analytical ability, accounting molds patience and carefulness. Some may argue that these benefits are irrelevant to practical skills that the useful or required subjects can bring to students. However, no doubt that practical skills without logic, analytical skills and carefulness may do harm to students' future career.

The discussion cited above demonstrates two viewpoints regarding study orientation o university students. The former focus on the significance of the applied subjects which may provide economic growth and social development. While the latter concerns about the importance of freedom to choose courses which leads to multiple improvements. Thus it is safe to conclude that both statements are both convincing.