Essay IELTS: How can the use of private motor vehicles be reduced?

It has been observed that the use of private means of transportation have increased over the last decade. People can be seen avoiding public transport such as buses, auto rickshaws and sometimes even trains as well. Some argue that using a personal vehicle makes them feel comfortable as far as the freedom of movement is concerned. In addition, owning the same, according to some, proves to be a status symbol.

Boom in the economy has helped common mass to afford private vehicles. For instance, earlier who could not buy even a bicycle is capable of buying a car these days. So, its because people earn enough now a days to support themselves financially well. Another reason they put forward for having their own transport is that they don't need to wait at public bus stands in order to visit somebody. They call it a freedom to move around if they own their personal vehicle.

However, owning an individual transport has resulted in an increase in uncontrollable traffic on the roads. It is almost impossible to move around in the peak hours in the metro cities these days. Moreover, the increased number of vehicles is prominent reason for increasing pollution and has also contributed to the annual accident rate. Adding to this, the increased number of private transport is one of the causes for global warming. Apart from that, a very small percent of people think of the maintenance of their vehicles which leads them to produce more green house gases that harm the environment. A chaos can be seen these days on the roads due to an increase in the number of private and public transport.

Concluding, I tend to say that this problem can be sorted out, what we need is just a concerted effort. In order to take the first step towards this reform, the concerned governments should encourage people to use the public transport. People can be enticed to use the same if a better transport facility is provided as this is the major reason why people go for a private one. Secondly, the new facility should be fast enough that can the public reach their destination without wasting time. Thirdly, people can be made aware of the harm they are causing unknowingly to the mother Earth. Those who don't go for a regular maintenance of their vehicles should be fined. Finally, the most important step is to make sure the buses are not over crowded. People would love to use public transport if they find room for themselves to sit comfortably during their journey. This problem can be overcome if these steps are implemented.