IELTS - Video games are harmful if people play them in the wrong ways

Some people regard video games as harmless fun, or even as a useful educational tool. Others, however, believe that videos games are having an adverse effect on the people who play them. In your opinion, do the drawbacks of video games outweigh the benefits?

The following is my essay. Please kindly help me to correct it and give me some suggestions to improve

With the development of technologies, there are a variety of video games which are popular nowadays. While video games have some negative impacts on the players, I do believe the benefits outweigh the drawbacks.

Video games are harmful if people play them in the wrong ways. Firstly, it is time consuming to play the games. Our regular routines would be disrupted if we are addicted to them. There are plenty of cases in which people spend so much time on it that they are unable to handle their study or work properly as they did before. Secondly, video games would cause health problems to the players. After staring at the screens for a long time without any rest, people are likely to get a poor eyesight. The sedentary life style and lack of exercise that often accompany gaming addiction would also cause obesity, which may further results in other health problems such as heart disease.

On the other hand, it is true that people benefit a lot from video games. One of the essential things that people can harvest from video games is enjoyment. Indeed, this is the main reason that people are keen on them. The modern life and work are rather stressful and it is a good choice for people to get relaxed and refresh themselves by playing video games. Another benefits of video games is that they can serve as education tools. In recent decades, an increasing amount of media and tools are available for education, and video games are certainly one of the most effective tools among them. A video game can catch a child's attention quickly. It is possible to include knowledge of history, culture and other required elements in a game such that players learn things when they are enjoying the games.

In conclusion, I argue that video games have more benefits then drawbacks. One can have great fun and get educated as well in a video game, provided that it is used wisely.