IELTS task 2: Whether women are more good at parenting than men is under hot debate.

are women better parents than men?

Many people believe that women make better parents than men and that this is why they have the greater role in raising children in most societies. Others claim that men are just as good as women at parenting. Discuss two sides and give your opinion

Answer:

Whether women are more good at parenting than men is under hot debate. Opinions differs from person to person. From where I stand, even though men have different advantages and disadvantages of parenting from women, I firmly assert that men are able to be as good parents as women and the significance of the role of father are tantamount to that of mother.

It is undeniable that compared with fathers, mothers are more affable and considerate and can enable children, especially little ones and infants, meticulous and sufficient care because of the gender differences. This is not sexual discrimination towards women but a deeper consideration of the demand of children. But it does not mean that mothers need to shoulder more responsibility of raising children. There existed a social belief that women have obligation to sacrifice for their family, even abandon their dreams and career, in order to ensure their children good care, high-quality education and a promising future. So what we expect a father's involvement ? That belief is unfair and partial, considering that the greater role women have, the heavier burden they have to take.

Furthermore, I suppose father's role has been underrated in the process of parenting for a long time. The research concerned have shown father's involvement have fundamental effects on the physical and psychological development of their offspring in childhood and adolescence. In addition, sufficient and unqualified fatherly love can shape one's personality to some extent. For instance, some social observation and psychological investigation found young girls lacking fatherly love are likely to feel inferior and tend to seek love of someone who is far more older than themselves.

All in all, it is safely concluded that both father and mother are best role models and easily set examples for their children. In spite of difference the way of parenting between father and mother, the influence exerted by them should not be ignored.