Essay about work hours Long or short work hours - feedback

Long-standing and till nowadays; we have been living in the age of aggressive materialism, and it is an obvious fact that financial aspects and monetary have become a major, and a part and parcel of daily life. The increasing of the revenue is vital for profit maximization of any organization and productivity has been traditionally linked to work hours. However, working longer hours may not necessarily higher output. Furthermore, longer hours may have detrimental effects on work life balance and productivity. Therefore, I tend to think that the benefits created by shorten work hours far outweigh their disadvantages

To begin with, productivity is a function of output and time. Besides, increasing working hours may appear as a magical solution to increase productivity. Nevertheless, there are a plethora of studies done to show that having longer working hour resulted in decreasing productivity. More working hours can mean increasing fatigue rather than increasing productivity and could negatively influence work life balance, which means less family meeting, personal life and even leisure. Furthermore, children are likely to receive less attention from busy parents, and childrearing is likely to be subjectively worse .This will affect his/ her productivity at work. On contrary, decreasing working hours enhance the work life balance and productivity which points to a large quantity of relaxation. This help open up horizon and gaining much knowledge.

To approach this point of view from another angle, working long hours puts stress on both brain and body. For example, if you constantly burn the midnight oil you'll eventually suffer from burnout and you may even become sick. Over the course of time, working excessively can contribute to decreased health. Therefore, productivity could be hindered. Moreover, people require sleep in order to re-energize because the human body is built to need this in order to sustain.

From what has been discussed above, we may safely draw the conclusion that long working hours will result in earning more money at the cost of stress-related health problems as well as a "drought of leisure." Therefore the productivity of an employee does not depend on how many hours he works but how much he/she enjoys his/her work. Maintaining a work-life balance is extremely important for both the employer and employee as this will help boost the productivity.