Writing task 2 : Working from home is more efficient than travelling

Some say that it would be better if the majority of employees worked from home instead of traveling to a workplace every day.

Do you think the advantages of working from home outweigh the disadvantages ?

With the development of the technology, there are many alternative ways for individuals selecting their workplace. Some believe that employees worked at home instead of working at office have more benefits. Personally, I strongly believe that the merits of it are more rather than the drawbacks which will be present in the following paragraphs.

To start with, working at home is beneficial for workers as they can save times and money. To move from home to workplace, people spend money on tickets, petrol and it waste their time while travelling. Therefore, teleworking is an appropriate way for financial saving. Moreover, remote workers have high productivity. When employees work at company, they often get interruption of time- consuming commute and working environment distraction. Moreover, they have more schedule flexibility. For example, in free time, they can spend time with family members.

However, there are some difficulties of it. Workers are lack of community and teamwork. At home, spending long hours and collaborating with a computer screen and no face-to-face interaction with team members can be challenging. Although there are platforms for video calls, it is still not efficient than sitting together and brainstorm ideas to work effectively. Another reason for that is the shortage of office equipment. Setting up a home office can be highly cost as they have to buy a high-end laptop/ desktop, a strong internet connection, a fax/printer machine.... And that is not convenience for everyone.

In conclusion, although it has some negative points, the positive side is more efficient as my opinions.