The youngsters should use their opportunities to travel or work wisely - it might help to find a job

Question:

In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Answer:

Working and traveling are becoming more popular trend among youngster than finishing their study or applying in university. While this trend has merits and demerits, I strongly believe that it has more benefits than drawback.

It is believed that working for youngster who have no degree certificate will make them as a cheap labor as it shows that they have no skills and less experiences. A 2013 research of South-wales University reveals that about 60 per cent employees who have no higher education certificate get salary under Rp. 1,000,000. It means that this trend will lead the number of cheap labor rate. Also, traveling in the young age will resist their career, and it will cause a rise of the number of unemployment.

However, there are some benefits from this trend. Firstly, youngsters working and traveling experience will improve their soft skill which is essentially needed in the job world. It means that the young people have experience that becomes a basic need for them, so they can find a job. Likewise, working and traveling will open a big possibility for youngsters to find a job link as predominant factor in the job world. Also, traveling can open young people's mind to be more creative and wise as they face a lot of challenges on their traveling.

All in all, despite the demerits of this trend, traveling and working are form of beneficial activities for youngsters so as to improve their basic skills that they need in their future. It is imperative that if youngsters can use their opportunities to travel or work wisely, it will make them easier to find a job.